Jesus in Pilate’s Court

Then they led Jesus from Caiaphas to the Praetorium, and it was early morning. But they themselves did not go into the Praetorium, lest they should be defiled, but that they might eat the Passover. 29 Pilate then went out to them and said, “What accusation do you bring against this Man?”

30 They answered and said to him, “If He were not an evildoer, we would not have delivered Him up to you.”

31 Then Pilate said to them, “You take Him and judge Him according to your law.”

Therefore the Jews said to him, “It is not lawful for us to put anyone to death,” 32 that the saying of Jesus might be fulfilled which He spoke, signifying by what death He would die.

33 Then Pilate entered the Praetorium again, called Jesus, and said to Him, “Are You the King of the Jews?”

34 Jesus answered him, “Are you speaking for yourself about this, or did others tell you this concerning Me?”

35 Pilate answered, “Am I a Jew? Your own nation and the chief priests have delivered You to me. What have You done?”

36 Jesus answered, “My kingdom is not of this world. If My kingdom were of this world, My servants would fight, so that I should not be delivered to the Jews; but now My kingdom is not from here.”

37 Pilate therefore said to Him, “Are You a king then?”

Jesus answered, “You say rightly that I am a king. For this cause I was born, and for this cause I have come into the world, that I should bear witness to the truth. Everyone who is of the truth hears My voice.”

38 Pilate said to Him, “What is truth?” And when he had said this, he went out again to the Jews, and said to them, “I find no fault in Him at all. — John 18:28-38.

The soldiers and others lead Jesus from Caiaphas to the Praetorium (magistrate’s court). It is early morning. Since they want to eat the Passover, the Jews do not enter the court lest they be defiled.

Pilate the governor goes out to meet the Jews and asks them what they were accusing Jesus of. They answer that if Jesus were not an evildoer they would not deliver Him up to Pilate.

Pilate tells them to judge Jesus according to their own law. The Jews wanted Jesus killed. They tell Pilate that it is not lawful for them to put anyone to death. This fulfilled Jesus’ prediction about His dying on the cross.

Pilate enters the court again, calls Jesus and asks Him whether He is the King of the Jews.

Jesus asks Pilate whether He is enquiring on his own. Pilate counters that Jesus has been handed over by the Jews and their chief priests. He asks Jesus what wrong He has done. Jesus replies that His kingdom is not of this world, that is, it is not physical but spiritual.

Pilate asks Jesus, “Are You a king then?”

Jesus answers, “You say rightly that I am a king. For this cause I was born, and for this cause I have come into the world, that I should bear witness to the truth. Everyone who is of the truth hears My voice.”

“What is truth?” Pilate asks Jesus. He then goes out and tells the Jews that Jesus is innocent.

The prejudice and the mockery of the legal process cause the Jews to lead Jesus from Caiaphas to the Praetorium, where He appears before Pilate. Pilate consults with the Jews and interrogates Jesus. The Lord tells him that He is a King, but not the sort of king for whom His followers will fight physically. Pilate knows full well that there is no fault in Him and that He has broken no aspect of the Roman law. Furthermore, he knows that the Jews have not got the power to sentence to death under Jewish law. [Bible Panorama.]

Scripture taken from the New King James Version®. Copyright © 1982 by Thomas Nelson. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

One thought on “Jesus in Pilate’s Court

  1. I found myself in this same portion of Scripture this morning. What jump off, having never seen before although I have read many, many times, Jesus says, “…but now My Kingdom is not from here.”. I love this. ” but now”. Come Lord Jesus! Your Kingdom Come! As it is in heaven, let it be on earth! Amen!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

