The Twelve Apostles

And when He had called His twelve disciples to Him, He gave them power over unclean spirits, to cast them out, and to heal all kinds of sickness and all kinds of disease. Now the names of the twelve apostles are these: first, Simon, who is called Peter, and Andrew his brother; James the son of Zebedee, and John his brother; Philip and Bartholomew; Thomas and Matthew the tax collector; James the son of Alphaeus, and Lebbaeus, whose surname was Thaddaeus; Simon the Cananite, and Judas Iscariot, who also betrayed Him. — Matthew 10:1-4.

Here Jesus calls His twelve disciples. These are the authorized representative or emissary whose word has the authority of the sender. Here the Twelve receive authority to do exactly what Jesus was doing (cf. vv. 7, 8).

These are ordinary men tasked with an extraordinary mission, a precursor of a greater mission (cf. Matthew 28:18-20). They are fishermen, a tax collector, a zealot (extreme patriot), even a future traitor! He empowers them for some great deeds. They were representatives of Christ, messengers of the King. Our Lord does not need special people or persons of influence to get His job done. He needs ordinary people who are weak so that He can display His power and glory.

Scripture taken from the New King James Version®. Copyright © 1982 by Thomas Nelson. Used by permission. All rights reserved.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s