Our Eternal Portion


You are my portion, O Lord;
I have said that I would keep Your words. ~ Psalm 119:57.

I cried out to You, O Lord:
I said, “You are my refuge,
My portion in the land of the living. ~ Psalm 142:5.

God is all we need for fulfillment. He holds our lives – all we are and ever will be are – in His hands. Our obedience draws upon God’s favor. As we trust Him and daily walk with Him in the light of His word, we find peace in the assurance that He is our refuge and strength and our everlasting Inheritance.

But God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever. ~ Psalm 73:26.

And for this reason He is the Mediator of the new covenant, by means of death, for the redemption of the transgressions under the first covenant, that those who are called may receive the promise of the eternal inheritance. ~ Hebrews 9:15.

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who according to His abundant mercy has begotten us again to a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, to an inheritance incorruptible and undefiled and that does not fade away, reserved in heaven for you, who are kept by the power of God through faith for salvation ready to be revealed in the last time. ~ 1 Peter 1:3-5.

And what is our eternal inheritance? It is being in the presence of God forever! Our Father is our Eternal Inheritance by virtue of which, we are blessed eternally. In Him, our heart’s joy and desires are fulfilled.  We are eternally satisfied.  We can have that state of fulfillment and satisfaction by making God our only and all-sufficient portion!

Portion is translated in the Hebrew as inheritance, or allotment.


Thou My Everlasting Portion / Close to Thee
Frances J. Crosby / Silas J. Vail
Source: Public Domain
======================================

Thou my everlasting portion,
More than friend or life to me,
All along my pilgrim journey,
Savior, let me walk with Thee.

Refrain 1:
Close to Thee, close to Thee,
Close to Thee, close to Thee;
All along my pilgrim journey,
Savior, let me walk with Thee.

Not for ease or worldly pleasure,
Nor for fame my prayer shall be;
Gladly will I toil and suffer,
Only let me walk with Thee.

Refrain 2:
Close to Thee, close to Thee,
Close to Thee, close to Thee,
Gladly will I toil and suffer,
Only let me walk with Thee.

Lead me through the vale of shadows,
Bear me o’er life’s fitful sea;
Then the gate of life eternal
May I enter, Lord, with Thee.

Refrain 3:
Close to Thee, close to Thee,
Close to Thee, close to Thee,
Then the gate of life eternal
May I enter, Lord, with Thee.


Scripture taken from the New King James Version®. Copyright © 1982 by Thomas Nelson. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

