The Love of God in Christ Jesus


The Lord has appeared of old to me, saying: “Yes, I have loved you with an everlasting love; Therefore with lovingkindness I have drawn you.” – Jeremiah 31:3.

Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? For I am persuaded that neither death nor life, nor angels nor principalities nor powers, nor things present nor things to come, nor height nor depth, nor any other created thing, shall be able to separate us from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord. – Romans 8:35, 38-39.

[T]o know the love of Christ which passes knowledge. – Ephesians 3:19.

Perhaps we shall never fully know the love of Christ; it passes knowledge and understanding. But we see it presented before us in the person and work of our Lord on our behalf.

And being found in appearance as a man, He humbled Himself and became obedient to the point of death, even the death of the cross. – Philippians 2:8.

In the words of William Emmanuel Booth Clibborn (1893-1969):

Down From His Glory
Down from His glory,
Ever living story,
My God and Savior came,
And Jesus was His Name.
Born in a manger,
To His own a stranger,
A Man of sorrows, tears and agony.

Refrain:
O how I love Him! How I adore Him!
My breath, my sunshine, my all in all.
The great Creator became my Savior,
And all God’s fullness dwelleth in Him.

What condescension,
Bringing us redemption;
That in the dead of night,
Not one faint hope in sight,
God, gracious, tender,
Laid aside His splendor,
Stooping to woo, to win, to save my soul
Refrain

Without reluctance,
Flesh and blood His substance,
He took the form of man,
Revealed the hidden plan,
O glorious myst’ry
Sacrifice of Calv’ry,
And now I know Thou art the great ‘I Am’
Refrain

What can hinder us from surrendering to the irresistible love of God displayed in Jesus Christ? Let us simply, in humble submission, immerse ourselves in the unfathomable depths of His love. Let us embrace Him and His love in child-like faith. It is so comforting to lay our heads on His bosom, with a sigh of relief, safe in the knowledge that He seeks only our very best. He paid a heavy price for that. As Samuel Trevor Francis (1834-1925) wrote:

O The Deep, Deep Love of Jesus
O the deep, deep love of Jesus, vast, unmeasured, boundless, free!
Rolling as a mighty ocean in its fullness over me!
Underneath me, all around me, is the current of Thy love
Leading onward, leading homeward to Thy glorious rest above!

O the deep, deep love of Jesus, spread His praise from shore to shore!
How He loveth, ever loveth, changeth never, nevermore!
How He watches o’er His loved ones, died to call them all His own;
How for them He intercedeth, watcheth o’er them from the throne!

O the deep, deep love of Jesus, love of every love the best!
‘Tis an ocean vast of blessing, ’tis a haven sweet of rest!
O the deep, deep love of Jesus, ’tis a heaven of heavens to me;
And it lifts me up to glory, for it lifts me up to Thee!

The love of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ lifted us up when we were down and hopelessly helpless. “But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” – Romans 5:8.

Love Lifted Me
Words by James Rowe (1865-1933)
I was sinking deep in sin, far from the peaceful shore,
Very deeply stained within, sinking to rise no more,
But the Master of the sea, heard my despairing cry,
From the waters lifted me, now safe am I.

Refrain
Love lifted me! Love lifted me!
When nothing else could help
Love lifted me!

All my heart to Him I give, ever to Him I’ll cling
In His blessèd presence live, ever His praises sing,
Love so mighty and so true, merits my soul’s best songs,
Faithful, loving service too, to Him belongs.
Refrain

Souls in danger look above, Jesus completely saves,
He will lift you by His love, out of the angry waves.
He’s the Master of the sea, billows His will obey,
He your Savior wants to be, be saved today.
Refrain

Note: Song Lyrics sourced from the public domain on the World Wide Web!
________________________________________
Scripture taken from the New King James Version®. Copyright © 1982 by Thomas Nelson. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

2 thoughts on “The Love of God in Christ Jesus

Leave a Reply

